Yorkshire Branch

About us

Welcome to the IOSH Yorkshire Branch.

Please feel free to make use of any information on these pages and contact us if there are things you think may be of interest to other visitors.

As a branch, we actively encourage and welcome non-members to attend our events and learn about issues and challenges at home and at work, in the field of health, safety and welfare.

All branch events are free to attend, include tea and coffee (sometimes a light buffet) and are always on different subjects.

If you download the latest version of our events programme you'll see what's coming up, but always use the events search to get up to date information and details about any last-minute changes before you set out.

We hope you find these pages a useful resource. Please bookmark our page and come back regularly to check for updates.

A bit of history

Albert Kendell, a recipient of the Presidents Distinguished Service Award, recalls a past boss (John Hayward) being a founder member of that organisation back in 1951, when meetings used to be held at the Yorkshire Parkside Safety Centre at Hunslet, Leeds, and attracted 20 to 25 people.

The change to IOSH saw the meetings move from the wooden hut at Hunslet to the Selby Fork Motel, then Kellingley Miners' Welfare at Knottingley before moving to the Parkside Hotel at Pontefract. In 1999, the branch split because of its size (over 2,400 members), and the Humberside Branch was formed.

Our current membership (again approaching 2,400) enjoys the setting of Rogerthorpe Manor for our events, which has served us well since April 2002.

We believe that the first female chair of an IOSH branch was our own Pat Harvey, back in the 1980s. She was followed in later years by Jean Illingworth and then Nina Wrightson, who went on to become President of IOSH and receive the Presidents Distinguished Service Award.

Other branch members who have received the Presidents Distinguished Service Award include: Kenneth Saxton MIOSH (February 1990), Ronald Jackson FIOSH (November 1993), Doug Cartwright FIOSH (April 2005) and Chris Richold MIOSH (April 2005). John Lacey has joined Nina as one of those able to claim the honour of President and has since joined the Board of Trustees.

Don't forget to follow us on Twitter for branch event and news updates.


IOSH Yorkshire Branch members may access the Branch meeting podcasts library held on a secure server external to the IOSH website, however, at present please note that this area is reserved for Yorkshire Branch members only.

IOSH Yorkshire Branch has been leading the way in how we record and deliver branch meeting presentations to its members for several years. Branch meetings are recorded (with speakers permission) and published in podcast (podbean format).

Podcast recordings are not stored on the IOSH website and are therefore held on a different server which will require Yorkshire Branch Members to provide a login and a password. See Login Details below. We hope you find podcasts useful.

Podcast recordings are in one of two options - either just the presentation slides; or presentation slides and an audio commentary synchronised with the slides. The latest recordings will appear at the top of the list.

For information on how to sign in to http://ioshyorkshire.podbean.com, please contact us.